Thread: Tire Dressings

Post Thanks / Like
    What are your methods for applying tire dressing? I am no pro but I like to saturate my tires with a water based dressing then come back after a while

and wipe down the excess before I call the job complete. Would you guys say this is only wasting product? Also what kind of applicators

would you say hold up the best (foam, fabric, air pump, or wax applicators).I dont like that shiny greasy look I`m more into a matte finish.

I`m at the point with my personal vehicle that my tires have soaked up all the dressing they can handle and they are very black and dry

to the touch when I run my fingers accross them, no browning just the look i`m going for. I dress them once a week.

I`m just curious on your guys` habits on this aspect of detailing.

Post Thanks / Like
    do a search with "tire dressing" and you will get about 2 days worth of reading. you`ll get more info than you ever wanted to know on the subject and then some.

Post Thanks / Like
    I apply/reapply water-based tire dressings the same way as yourself :waxing:

The only product that ever browned my tires was Mother`s FX Tire Shine..

Post Thanks / Like
    Same here, I use Megs Hyperdressing, let soak in and then towel off excess. I used to experience tire browning with ArmorAll.

Post Thanks / Like
    Zaino z-16 with a terrycloth applicatior twice. Smoothing/removing excess with an old microfiber if necessary.

Post Thanks / Like
    I apply all dressings (water based, gels, etc.) with a foam applicator. Apply a thin line to the foam and then work the foam around the entire sidewall. If the dressing is uneven I continue to rub the foam around the tire until it`s all even.

Post Thanks / Like
    What is the best product or method to prevent the tire dressing from splattering all over the car when you drive?

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by billyharless