Post Thanks / Like
    Newbie here. Did a couple of searches, but didn`t quite find what I was looking for.

I have a set of Porsche wheels that have seen better days and I would like to know how to polish them properly. I am looking for a beautiful mirror shine. Please teach me.

FWIW They should be relatively easy to polish as they are very flat (928S4) and yes , I have some time on my hands.

Thank you.

-Meek

Post Thanks / Like
    Bump for help...

Post Thanks / Like
    Depends on the current quality of the rims but I use a good wheel cleaner (many good products can be found at auto stores) and then Klasse AIO to polish with Klasse SG to seal them. I also use a wheel wax on one of my cars and it makes removing the brake dust very easy. If your rims are pitted, scarred, oxidized....you will need a very different technique.

Can you post pics of the rims?

Post Thanks / Like
    What are they. Chrome, Aluminum, etc. More details ....

Post Thanks / Like
    They are forged aluminum. 2 are perfect w/ factory clearcoat. 1 is almost perfect with factory clearcoat but has a very little bit of curbrash on it. The last one is missing some clearcoat and thus has a little pitting on it, but to my untrained eye doesn`t look deep at all. I`ll see if I can find a camera to post pics. Thoughts on the process.

I`ve read elsewhere:

1. I need aircraft cleaner to strip the clearcoat

2. Use 100 grit sandpaper (by hand-no machines, literally?)

3. Use 200

4. Use 400 dipped in water (wet)

5. Use 1000 wet

6. Use 2000 wet

7. Then maybe(?) put something on as a sealer/protectant

Does this sound right? :nixweiss

Post Thanks / Like
    If it has clearcoat on it....they should be pretty damm good a already. Have you tried taking a light polish meant for paint to the clearcoat. When you state clearcoat, are we talking centers only or the outer halves.