Post Thanks / Like
    I searched but couldnt find anything that will help me out. My dad decided to take his Lincoln Navigator to some, "mickey mouse" body shop to get repainted. They did a mediocre job, but did not buff it. The car has hazing, and holograms all over the fresh paint. It has been over 2 weeks now and the guy now wants to charge my dad $300 more to finish it off.. I have a pc, but I think I will have to use a rotary. My dad has a makita rotary he used for sanding, and I can use it as a polisher, but I have never done this before, especially on new paint. How should I go about doing this? What products/techniques should I use with new paint without burning it off?

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by tsxmike
    They did a mediocre job, but did not buff it. The car has hazing, and holograms all over the fresh paint.

You kinda contridicted yourself. If they didn`t buff it, how are there holograms? What ever process you choose, test out a very inconspicuous area 1st. I`d personally take the truck back to the shop and demand satisfaction or tell them you`ll take them to court for ruining their paint work.
    Metro Detroit`s leader in cleaning, preserving & perfecting fine automobiles!

Post Thanks / Like
    One more bit; unless your dad`s rotary Makita has variable speed, it`s really isn`t appropriate for buffing cars. Be sure to check that out.

Post Thanks / Like