Post Thanks / Like
    Hello,

First. I just hate those palms in the autopia-banner. Especially now when we have 10" snow on the ground :grinno:

Well, seriously. I started learning detailing about 6 months ago with my new car. It was spring and then summer. Everything was nice and easy. No raining during summer so only little bit PoorBoys QD for dust and the car was nice and shiny all the summer. Like just waxed. (SSR1 + EX-P + Natty Blue were good base).

Now the winter came in a little bit suprise (Like every year ) . It`s cold and snow everywhere. Can`t wash the car on the yard for next 4 months. Still I like to keep it relatively clean and PoorBoys QD seems to do good job but I don`t dare to use it for dirt. Too afraid of scratching the SSR1-polished clearcoat.

Would anyone like to share some winter-detailing tips? What`s your procedure and products? Or is there any other choice than automatic carwash + some QD afterwards?

Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like
    I feel your pain, as I also happen to be living in Finland.

If you live in a decent size town, there should be DIY-bays at some gas stations. Those are the places I use to wash my car during cold weather. Some even have pressure washers, which are nice for pre-cleaning the car before washing by hand. Those DIY-bays are not exactly cheap, but a much better option than automatic washes, as the touchless washes won`t get rid of the winter-grime and the "soft-bristle"-swirl-o-matics, well.. not for me anyway.

EDIT: I wouldn`t want to use regular QD after a touchless wash, but maybe something like ONR would be good for the remaining dirt. I haven`t tried ONR myself, but I`d really like to give it a go. At this time of year though, I don`t want to order detailing stuff by mail and risk the products freezing during transport. Most of the waxes and polishes I have must be kept from freezing, don`t know about other products and I really don`t want to take the risk.

Post Thanks / Like