Post Thanks / Like
    I am trying to get into the business but I would like some on the job training. I have guides and books and videos but no on job training. I am looking to see if there is anybody in NJ that can help me PLEASE!! Im looking to see if there is anybody in NJ that is willing to help me out and show me the ropes. I have some basic knowledge from the books and guides that I have read but I still have some problems. I have a difficult time especially with the cleaning of the carpets. I live in Bergen County but I am willing to travel to learn. I am willing to pay for the help if need be. PLEASE HELP!

Post Thanks / Like
    Start at a chevy/ford/dodge dealership. Work there for a few months. Then go to an import dealer for a month or two. Then move up to a higher-end dealership, and finally to a private detail shop that takes client work.

I don`t know how many guys who come to work for me that I get that:1.) think they either know everything (but don`t), 2.)don`t know what they are getting into, or who 3.)just don`t want to put in the time needed to really learn "the business".

If my plan of action sounds like a lot of time, you are right. And that is just the beginning. It takes a long time to gain true experience. You gotta put in some time, you gotta pay some dues if you want to start your own business, which is what I assume you want to do.

And guess what? If you try my plan, you are likely going to run into guys who are not willing to teach you! With detailers, time is money. It will be tough to find anyone willing to show you (in their eyes, waste their time) the ropes.

My advice is to go to the smaller dealerships, where you will not be one of 15 guys who do nothing but wash cars all day and eat **** from douchebag salesmen and managers. You can learn, have some down time, and learn the finer points of detailing, as well as the people skill part of the business.