Post Thanks / Like

Kamikaze Zipang/ISM application questions

Long time listener, first time caller.

Hey guys, I`ve got experience using ceramic coatings, but this is my first time doing a Kamikaze coating and I`m going with Zipang. I`ve read a few places online including esoteric that the "Best" way to apply this stuff is with a sandwich of Zipang/Miyabi/Zipang and it looks like there was similar guidance for applying ISM.

I was hoping to validate that this makes sense with some of the guys here who have done this (like maybe BudgetPlan). In my simple mind, I would think the second and third layers would have trouble bonding to the base layer and it would just wipe right off, but maybe the coatings can bond to other coatings in a similar way to how they bond to clear coat.

In the past with other coatings, I`ve done two coats essentially to make sure I have full coverage and didn`t miss any spots, but I didn`t really expect that I was getting two layers of coating on there.

Anyway, I`d love to get the thoughts of you guys with more experience. If the three coat sandwich is proven or something similar works with other products, that`s what I`ll do. I would just hate to be wasting product if it`s not really doing anything. Thanks guys! --Big Mac

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Kamikaze Zipang/ISM application questions

Kamikaze will bond to itself as long as you do it within the recommended time frame. The gentlemen in Ohio would be the one to provide specific guidance, hopefully.
    Likes BudgetPlan1 liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Hello. Not trying to sound like a jack@ss but I would stick w/ the info provided by esoteric instead of trying to formulate or reason with products you are not familiar with. As soon as I heard u say "simple mind, I would think" ......that`s where u made a wrong turn.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by kimjungillest View Post