Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Protection against tree sap mist?

Hi. Newbie here. Been lurking and searching for quite some time and decided to finally register.

My issue: We have oak and madrone trees all over the place. One or the other or both seem to emit a sap mist that rapidly makes a car`s surface feel like 180 grit sandpaper. Like in one day. I`m not talking about pitch blobs. This is pin point size particles that stick to the car.

Our 2017 GMC (red metallic) had a bad case of this "sandpaper". I clay bar`d it and at first I didn`t think it did anything. But on closer inspection, it seems I traded convex pitch spots for concave paint pitting. Crap. The paint is covered in near microscopic pits that you can both see and feel. Polished it up, and it is reasonably acceptable.

My question:

Does anybody have a suggestion for protecting the paint going forward? Priorities (in this order):
    1. Maximum protection against the sap mist.
    2. Long lasting - Although I regularly wash/wax my garage queen, I dislike spending any more time than necessary on the daily drivers.
    3. Easy to use.
    4. Least critical: Appearance. It`s not a show car, just as long as it looks generally presentable, I`m happy.