Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Anyone Using a Coating Prep Wash Soap?

I am asking my fellow Autopians if any of you are using a Prep Wash Soap for washing vehicles before you correct or wax/seal/coat them. There are a host of them now from major car-care product/chemical manufactures, including:
    1) Bilt Hamber Pre Wash Snow Foam (from the USA distributor The Clean Garage)
    2) McKee`s 37 Coating Prep Auto Wash
    3) Adam`s Strip Wash
    4) Chemical Guy`s Clean Slate OR their Citrus Wash Clear
    5) DP Detailing Product Coating Prep Wash
    6) Griot`s Garage Foaming Surface Prep
    7) 3D Super Pre-Soak
    8) Turtle Wax Maxx Wash (Kinda if you use enough of it in a stronger dilution ration per the label directions)
    to name a few.
    Do they work as they say they do? Are they worth using?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts, opinions, and experiences.
    GB detailer

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Anyone Using a Coating Prep Wash Soap?

I’m not a pro, just a weekend warrior. I have/used BH autofoam, Adam’s strip wash and obsessed garage decontamination soap. I think Adam’s strip wash is garbage (I love their car soap). OG decon soap seems above average and strips some protection (spray wax, sealant). Autofoam at 5% PIR is quite strong at stripping road grime even without agitation. It’s suppose to be wax/sealant safe but I notice it definitely degrades some. I think these products could be useful if you’re looking for a minimal quick prep. Probably negligible if you end up using clay, panel wipe, polishing/correcting. I use them during the wash since I have them. But if I had to choose I’d use panel wipe/prep product instead.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Post Thanks / Like

Another hobbyist here...

I`ve looked at a couple of them, but in the end didn`t see the point.

If I`m doing a full detail, I`m going to polish/compound and the mechanical abrasion will certainly remove anything from the surface far better than any prep soap.