Post Thanks / Like

Collinite still in the can question

I opened the 476s and 885 the other day temp was in the 80`s in the garage. The 476s was normal but noticed some pooling liquid in the 885. Today temp is 106, 476 looks normal, 885 has a minor lake. Should I be worried ?. I also received the latest order which included FK High Temp paste. That stuff smells awful but it was dry earlier, just reopened and it appears to be sweating it out in the can. I have been using liquids for the last 30 years so is this normal for paste waxes ?.

Dave

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Collinite still in the can question

MANY paste waxes will soften or even melt under high temps, I had a can of Megs Ult Paste that I let sit on a the floorboards of a car while I sealed the outside of the car. When I returned to the can to reapply it to the applicator, there were a few "islands" of semi-solid wax floating in a lake of liquid wax, I had to put it in the freezer for a few minutes so it would solidify again so I could use it. I often melt paste waxes on purpose when I get near the end of the can so all the crumbled and cracked pieces melt together into one larger block again.
    Don M

Proud owner of a 2017
    SUPERCHARGED
    Hyper-Blue Metallic 2LT 6/Manual
    Camaro

Post Thanks / Like

Dave, that doesn`t sound normal. Also, I`d never store my products (except glass cleaner) in a hot or cold garage unless I intend to throw them away.
    Cars: bringing people together

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks guy`s, I moved them into the Air Conditioned house last night. I am a little surprised I saw this in the 885 and not the 476s tho, although the 885 has a larger pot hole at the center of the wax, maybe I should put it out on the concrete at 106+ and let it melt to fill in the pot hole.

Dave

Post Thanks / Like