Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    say whaaaat? yep.......a friend of mine and i exchanged opinions on the whether or not car wax led to clearcoat problems. so how about everyone chime in here, and confirm that it is 100% safe to use wax and other silcones on newer car paint. his car is a 99 vette...and he has never waxed i until today because "wax will ruin paint."

lol

i understand that back in the day on the older laquer paints, it may have been a little different....but on today`s paint it is 100% safe for wax. i mean, ***, thats what its made for, right? i am no expert on car paint at all....actually dont know much about it except for polishing and protecting...but doesnt today`s paints even contain bits of silicone IN it!??

Post Thanks / Like
    Tell your buddy to get his head out of his ***.

Post Thanks / Like
    I detailed a C4 Corvette about 10 years ago and at first the guy was a bit hesitant about getting it waxed because the dealer told him "it has a clear coat, you don`t need to wax it". After I polished and waxed it, he said he wanted to strangle the dealer because if he hadn`t listened to that so-called advice, his car would have looked a lot better over the time he owned it.
    www.scottwax.com

Certified Opti-Coat Pro/Pro 3 installer

Post Thanks / Like
    The only time not to wax / apply sealant is on fresh paint that hasn`t cured yet. Clear coat is just paint without pigment.
    BespokeCarDetailing and AeroCleanse, LLC

Post Thanks / Like
    Waxing is encouraged, but not required, by the manufacturers as stated in many of the owner`s manuals of many cars.