Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like
    I posted on Meg`s site, and have copied my post below. I will preface this by saying that I am not a pro but I enjoy detailing and have been doing it for several years. What I consider LSP ready may not be what many of you consider LSP ready, but I will assert that what I consider LSP ready would satisfy 99% of the public. Anyway, here it is:

I picked up a bottle last night for around $8. I have probably $150 worth of different polishes that I have picked up over the past 2 years. I have a black G35 with a repainted hood. Over the winter, I picked up some nice, long, shallow scratches in the hood, likely from improper cleaning technique. I really don`t worry about it too much in the winter, since I polish every spring anyway.

I used the PC with a Meg`s yellow pad and UC. I put about a quarter sized bit on the pad and spread it over a 1.5` x1.5` section. (I used less on subsequent applications). I started my first pass with enough pressure to allow only slow rotation of the pad. I did two passes in that fashion. Then I lightened up and moved the pad a little faster for 2-3 passes. By pass, I mean movement over the work area, not applications of product. I then (easily) wiped away the polish and was very pleasantly surprised to see that the marring was gone and the underlying paint was LSP ready.

I have used #80, #83, Menzerna FPII and IP, 3M products, etc. I must say, UC is, so far, the best of all of them. Unlike 80 and 83, you don`t have to try to guess when the product is ready to remove. I cannot tell you how many times I have been frustrated when 80 and/or 83 either gummed up or refused to be easily removed from the paint. Both could get finnicky. Both do a good job, but UC is a breath of fresh air. Just stop when you want and it easily wipes off, like a dream. It did the job with ONE application, not 1-2 of #80 or #83.