Post Thanks / Like
    Ok, I am a noob in this forum so please excuse me. I have recently gotten back into the restoration thing and I am currently on my 2nd car. It is a Lotus Europa (74) I have not been in the hobby for the last 20+ years and I am totaly enjoying myself again! Now here`s the question. In my teens, I used a product called Astro Shield on my cars. You could build up layers, etc. Easy on / off. No streaking, etc. I put about 30+ coats on the Lotus and I am really pleased! Yes, I still have 16 cans of the stuff! It really works quite well. The paint (Lotus yellow) looks to be about an inch thick of beautiful luster. Now here`s the question. What is the equivalent today? I know that this is a flame question or a RTFM question, but I am interested in what, if anything will bring out the showcar shine on the lotus. The paint is about 2 years old. No clear coat but a thick application of hi gloss. I apply the astroshield almost daily after I work on the car as sort of a theraputical relaxation abd "bonding" with the car. Yes, It`s strange, but It makes me feel good to treat the car well. Is there any product(s) out there that have the apply-more-coats build up the shine?

Thanks!

Rick

British Auto Sports

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Rick, :welcome to Autopia!

Congats on diving back into the LBC world. Hard to imagine a cooler toy than a twink Europa. It looks terrific!

Can’t help you with the Astro-Shield. Never heard of it.

As for the ability to “build up shine†by applying more product, some people believe it works and some don’t. Some companies recommend it for their products, most don’t. I can only recommend that you do what works for you.