Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tune Up!

Post Thanks / Like
    I have a question for anyone who knows, preferably a machanic. I have a jeep with baout 120k miles on it. It time for a tune up and i was wondering what are the main things that are done. Im aware of the spark plugs, and spark plug cables, but what else is there. Im pretty knowledgeable about cars and i dont feel like paying the jeep dealer like over $300 and have them rip me a new A** Hole when i can do it for $100 Thanks

-Jon

Post Thanks / Like
    What year is your Jeep? (I was a dealership tech (ASE Master) for about 7 years)

Our typical tune-up included:

- Remove and Replace (R&R) Spark Plugs

- R&R Spark Plug Wires

- R&R Distributor Cap & Rotor (if equipped)

- Clean Throttle Body & IAC (Idle Air Control) Valve (if equipped)

- Flush Cooling System

- Flush Transmission & R&R Trans Filter

- Inspect and R&R Drive Belts as necessary

- Inspect fluid levels (differential, transfer case, etc), top off if necessary

- Change Oil and Filter

- Lubricate suspension & U-Joints (if equipped)

You could get really "crazy" if you wanted to and pack the hubs (if possible), change the differential fluid, flush the brake fluid, etc...

It all depends on your skillset and comfort level with doing your own repairs.

Post Thanks / Like
    its an 97` grand cheorkee laredo. im comfortable with doing most of that stuff, some i owuld have to look up in a chilton guide or something. Based on your knowledge is it worth bringing a jeep to a jeep dealer to be tuned up or does it not matter who does it? Is there much of a price diference?

Post Thanks / Like
    For a basic tune-up, it shouldn`t really matter who works on the vehicle. Most quality independent shops should do the same operations to the Jeep that the dealer would. Cost - well, I`m not sure on that...some of the independent shops can be as expensive as the dealer.

Post Thanks / Like