Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: 71 Firebird

Post Thanks / Like

Re: 71 Firebird

Quote Originally Posted by Arrow View Post
    That`s an impressive finish in primer! At least from what I`ve seen before. Is that in part due to the type of primer you used or just from really careful wet sanding?

Even though I don`t think that I`m a fan of the color choice, I look forward to seeing the progress and can`t wait to see the final finished product!

Sent from my XT1031 using Tapatalk
    It has been wet sanded. To tell how straight panels are you can just run water over it. That is why it is so shiny. It is still wet.

Post Thanks / Like

Finally got around to spraying the car. It isn`t the best job I`ve done by far but wet sanding and buffing will take care of the issues. I used a clear that I have never used before so there was a little bit of a learning curve so it has some orange peel in places. I laid down 4 coats of clear. If you notice in some of the pictures there aren`t any lights any lower than around 5` which causes a problem seeing what is going on with the lower parts of the doors/fenders/quarters. Between no light, having a full face mask on and the fog from the clear overspray I may as well have been spraying in the dark. I need to plan on a light source on the next job I do there.

Likes mnehls86, Poorboy, nickclark08, Ronkh, itb76 and 1 others liked this post
    Thanks itb76 thanked for this post

Founder Poorboy's World Poorboy's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Looking good so far .. glad a few parts could be painted off the car
    life is short ..do it while you can

e-mail info@poorboysworld.com

Post Thanks / Like

xtremekustomz- Hey, that`s really coming along! Sounds challenging what with the lighting conditions.

I for one like the color

Post Thanks / Like

I may have to take back my dislike of the color... I think it could grow on me.

Sent from my XT1031 using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like