Thread: Cold air intake

Post Thanks / Like
    I am fairly new to performance mods but I was thinking about getting a cold air intake for my 2007 accord. I am looking at the K&N 69-1209TS. But this does not look like a true cold air to me since it just goes into the spot where the oem unit is. Would this be considered a SRI instead? Does anybody have any experience with CAI or any thoughts? Thanks.

69-1209TS - K&N 69 Series Typhoon Kits, Performance Intake Kit

Post Thanks / Like
    I don`t have any direct experience with Honda intakes but I have put different intakes on several other cars. One thing I notice is that K&N offerings tend to be rather generic. This one, for instance, is offering 7hp at 5000rpm. That`s not a ton of increase and it is only achieved at a really high rpm. Have to wonder if it is worth it. It depends what you want as well. Some are more noise than real benefit.

I am pretty confident that Honda aftermarket performance places offer something better. I bet a quick search on a Honda enthusiest website will turn up many options.
    The Stable
    2017 Audi TTS
    2014 Porsche Carrera S
    2017 Porsche Macan GTS
    1996 Porsche Carrera 4S

Post Thanks / Like
    You`re better off throwing your money into a trash can. There are very few newer cars that actually benefit from an air filter/"intake" replacement.

Post Thanks / Like
    You are probably right Dan. The main reason I want one is not for performance but to get rid of that annoying huge box.

Post Thanks / Like
    Gotcha, have you looked around on ebay? I`d grab one of the cheaper inlet pipes, trash the filter that comes with them and get one of those nice AEM dry filters.

Post Thanks / Like
    ^That`s not a bad idea. Dry filter would be a lot easier to maintain also. My favorite part about my intake is the noise. Don`t think it really does much performance wise.

Post Thanks / Like