Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

stumbled upon a good trick

I am not a pro detailer, just a guy who wants to keep his Harley looking nice.

So I had a problem which is why I sought out this forum. The bike has chrome parts on the engine, and it has black parts. The black parts are a real rough textured flat black.

There are places where chrome parts bolt on to black parts. You don`t want to spread chrome plish onto the black parts. I had this happen and tried to wipe it off. I thought I had it off, but it only thinned it and what was left was invisible until it dried. Anyway, I didn`t know this was happenning and rode the bike and got it hot so the white residue basically baked onto the black finish on the engine part.

Tooth brush and various liquid cleaners were useless. I thought it was permanent until I had this brain flash. Why not try one of those magic erasers my wife keeps around the house?

It worked! Perfectly. There are probably other detailing application these little abrasive sponges are good for. Anyway, thought I would share that for anyone else who smears white polish onto their rough black engine parts.
    Djunior

"Luck" Residue of design tuscarora dave's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: stumbled upon a good trick

What I know of these black crinkle finish Harleys is that the engine parts are powder coating but the oil tank is painted crinkle paint. I applied PB Bold & Bright tire shine on a 2009 soft tail black crinkle painted oil tank and the next morning the paint had lifted Just a fyi

Post Thanks / Like

Jeez. Thanks for the tip Dave.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Djunior View Post
    Jeez. Thanks for the tip Dave.