Post Thanks / Like

Weird tree sap nightmare

Hi all. Newbie here, hope you have some advice for me.

I have a new Ram 1500 Limited. Paint is black metallic flake. Our rental house garage is filled with motorcycles so I have to park outside.

The other morning I noticed a bunch of debris on the hood. Each bit looked like a brown peppercorn. I assumed they were some tree dropping that would blow off once I started driving. Incorrect! Nothing moved off the hood, and the windshield wipers had a terrible time with the ones on the windshield.

I mentioned it to my wife and she said they had been there when she drove the truck the day before. So they were probably adhered for 48 hours before I took action.

My first stop was the car wash (yes, I know, but I was busy). They do a machine wash with hand drying afterwords. Most of the "corns" came off, but some left a small layer of brown adhesive. In addition, around where the corns had adhered, there was an irregular rink of micro-crazing in the paint surface. It looks like this:

Weird tree sap nightmare-paint-craze.jpg

The crazing is so shallow that you can`t feel it with a finger or fingernail.

First I tried removing it with some water on a shop towel. No result. Then I applied some degreaser (like Zep) to a shop towel and rubbed gently on an inconspicuous mark on the roof. Nothing. Finally I tried a bit of acetone. Again nothing.

I`m at a loss at this point, but don`t want to take it to a detailer without getting input from you all.

Oh by the way the suspect tree looks like this:

Weird tree sap nightmare-tree.jpg

All comments or suggestions are appreciated, thanks!

/afb
    Attached Images Attached Images

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Weird tree sap nightmare