Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Glass polishing leaving very fine swirl

This is my first attempt at actual glass polishing with a section of window with CarPro ceriglass polish & a CarPro Rayon 5" disc on my D/A.
    The glass window itself was on a typical commuter car but in decent cond with no waterspots or any noticeable film/grime. I made sure the glass was absolutely clean before hand as well my rayon disc.
    I did a firm pass on speed 4 & then wiped off the residue & repeated 3 times. For each pass I used a decent amount of polish & 2 small mists of water from spray bottle.

After clean up in typical outdoor light the glass looked new and more glossy. But under a small LED flashlight I can see very fine swirl like what a D/A produces. So my rayon pad is scratching the glass.
    At first feel the rayon does strike me as quite abrasive being almost like a scotch brite pad.

Should the glass be swirl free under LED light? Or is this to be expected?

Please help, thanks
    Thanks Mary B thanked for this post

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Glass polishing leaving very fine swirl

I think it`s probably the Ceriglass creating the fine marring. Are you using plenty of water? I"m not sure 2 small mists is enough, you really need tons of water for glass polishing, the pro rotary rigs they make actually feed water through the center of the backing plate.

I really want to try the sanding approach some day, 3M makes a series of PSA discs that can be used for glass, I think the place you can find them on line is GT Glass.

PS I have also thought about using some sort of sanding lube for either the Ceriglass or sanding approach, Four Star makes a sanding lube, but it seems quite expensive (not to mention it`s hard to find a place that sells it), so I was considering the CarPro Immolube, which has a dilution for sanding and seems to be reasonably economical that way...although certainly not like water or even water with some car soap or rinseless wash in it.