Post Thanks / Like

Newbie questions

I have a 2015 Hyundai Sonata, phantom black in color. It has some basic swirls and light scratches on it. I am working with a Torque10fx and have various CG and Meguiar`s products. I have never done any detailing before and I couldn`t find any solid info on the questions I have, so any tips/advice is appreciated.

I have a 3M clear bra on the front going about 1/4 of the way up the hood. I also have it on the front quarter panels, under the door handles and on the edges of the doors as well. Do I need to avoid these areas when using the polisher? I had heard it`s ok to clay, seal and wax it but couldn`t find anything about using a polisher with it. Would I just tape over the clear bra?

How many pads should I have on hand? I was thinking 4 each of the black, white and orange and 1 each of the other colors. Can I wash them and use them again right away? I was thinking of going through 2 pads, washing them and hand drying them as best I can, then using the other 2 pads as the washed ones air dry a bit.

Should I be taping up the chrome trim while using the polisher as well?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie questions

You can polish over the PPF but you may get polish imbedded around the film, so be careful or expect to spend time cleaning up around the edges. Sounds like you have enough pads to start, just remember they are disposable and may not last too long. The chrome trim is like the PPF, it depends on how careful you are. I would mask it off just to save cleanup time on a full detail.
    Likes Ronkh liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

What he said! Just don`t work on the film long, don`t want to put much heat in it

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the advice. I was nervous about taping it off as I thought it might pull up the bra possibly. I won`t be polishing on the bra much at all so I don`t think I will have any issues.