Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Question New Car Help for a Newbie

Hi everyone,

I just took possession of a brand new Lexus GS 350 F Sport in their atomic silver paint with alloy wheels. It has the leather-wrapped steering wheel and shift knob and flaxen leather with Naguri aluminum trim interior. It will be my daily driver. It will be kept outside overnight and weekends and in a garage during the weekdays at work. I do plan on using a good car cover while outside due to Miami sun/birds. I have the all-weather mats inside. I have a sunshade blind that I place on the dash whenever it will be in the sun.

I need help to understand what I should do now to start protecting the car now.

• I am a newbie at car maintenance but am willing to put in the time to do it right
    • I am willing to wash the car weekly and wax monthly
    • I have a polisher but it`s the cheap one from the local auto parts store
    • I don`t have a lot of experience polishing cars and would likely do it by hand

Questions:

1. What should I apply to the exterior of the car today given how I will use and store the car?
    2. What should I apply to the tires and wheels to protect them?
    3. What should I apply to the interior elements of the car (leather and plastic) to protect them? Do you think 303 protectant is good in this case given the heavy Miami sun?

Any other thoughts or suggestions are most welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks for helping out an enthusiast, guys!

Best regards,

Art from Miami
    Proud owner of a 2016 Lexus GS 350 F Sport in atomic silver.
    Likes Stokdgs, Migue, Mary B liked this post

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New Car Help for a Newbie

Based on your car being silver, and they way you will store the car, and the hot environment, I recommend Collinite 845 wax. Two coats. Follow the instructions and do not let it dry too long.

Use the Collinite 845 on the wheels too! No need to buy a special wheel sealant unless you just want to.