Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Amateurs. Take HEART!

I own a Black Hyundai Santa Fe. Bought in November, 2002. A black car is a career, and I looked to Autopia for hints. Research led me to Platinum. Very nice, indeed. At 45 degrees is was a challenge to apply, but the results were very nice, indeed. Next was the hype on the ClearKote products. Naturally I had to try them - Vanilla Moose and Moose Wax - very nice, indeed. Then it was S100. Outstanding! But, now I was accumulating a lot of layers of these various nostrums.

Today I broke the bonds of hype and started over.

Being an amateur, I looked for the "retail" solution to getting my Black Santa Fe (The paint is not nearly as refined as my daughter`s M350).

MOTHER`S!! Phase 1, Pre Wax Cleaner. Phase 2, Sealer and Glaze. Bought at Pep Boys for $12 and change.

After the Pre Wax Cleaner, I thought that it can`t get better than this, but I persevered. On to Phase 2, Sealer and Glaze. Oh boy! For six bucks, this is a DEAL! Black, expecially Hyundai Black, is a real bear to get some semblance of freedom from swirls - spiderwebs or whatever. Phase 2 did the job. Now I don`t wince when I look at the hood from an angle.

To protect this nice look, the next step was a coat of S100 Paste Wax purchased at the local Harley dealership for $14.95 plus tax.

So, for $28 or so, I have a car that I am proud of. No shipping charges, no $200 PC (with pads and accessories) Just a nice shiney car and about three hours time.

Amateurs. Take HEART

Boss_429
    Ray,

I agree! Given the proper paint prep, Turtle Wax would look great on a vehicle........... even black. It may not shine as well as another product, or be as wet, or deep, or glossy, or last as long, but it would probably look fine. However, you would have to have two vehicle with the same paint condition, with the same paint prep................... side by side to know the difference between it, and another product!

You down with UPP?
    Post Thanks / Like