Death to white cars!
    Post Thanks / Like

newbie question on hand removing swirls

Hello - I am the new guy on DC. I have been reading/harvesting knowledge from here for about two weeks, and see that most everyone on here is really cool, so I finally registered. Glad to be here!

My situation - I am a detailing newbie that is trying to remove some light to medium scratches and swirls from my black 87 SS by hand using Meguiars Deep Crystal Paint Cleaner and a Meg yellow foam pad. I spent about 45 minutes on the trunk lid and one quarter panel alone, and it still isnt where I want it to be.

Question is, am I wasting my time trying this by hand? Should I just buy a PC and be done with it? Which one is the best (i.e. - most features for the buck) : the 7336, 7335, or 7424?

I also ordered some AIO, UPP and P21S from P.A.C. Should I try to get most of these scratches and swirls out BEFORE using these products, or will the AIO help to do this on its own? Any advice is MOST appreciated....

Thanks in advance for your help guys!

Brian
    "The 83-88 Monte SS - they just don`t make `em like that anymore...."

Post Thanks / Like
    While removing the scratches/swirls by hand in not impossible, it is certainly labor intensive. The Porter Cable buffers are all exactly the same. The different "part numbers" are merely used to describe the options fitted to that individual buffer.

With the P/C, using the Meguiars paint cleaner followed by either the #9 Swirl Mark Remover, #82 Swirl Free Polish, or the Step 2 polish (consumer line) will eliminate the swirls and give you the look you are wanting and prep the surface for the AIO/UPP.
    Don M

Proud owner of a 2017
    SUPERCHARGED
    Hyper-Blue Metallic 2LT 6/Manual
    Camaro

Strange name, ain't it? NattyBumppo's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: newbie question on hand removing swirls

Originally posted by 87 Monte SS