Post Thanks / Like

Need some detailing advice

I was very inspired after reading Jngrbrdman`s detailing article. I have been stubbornly and exclusively waxing my personal cars by hand for almost forty years now (perhaps because of the old adverse memory of burning the paint while using a powered drill buffer on my dad`s brand new black Ford back in `67). Jngrbrdman`s article convinced me however, to finally buy the 7424 pc ($109 at Home Depot). I also purchased the recommended foam pads and mf towels, but I couldn`t bring myself to purchasing the dacp, as I was afraid it might be too aggressive for my newer cars. I instead purchased Maguire`s #9, but this may be an underkill. I have also ordered the UPP, and I`m looking forward to it`s arrival as I plan on exclusively applying it in layers.

I am new to power buffers (and hesitant). Please recommend what part of the overall process (application/ removal) should now be done exclusively by hand (I would now like to use my new pc as much as possible for effect and time savings).
    Can I exclusively use the 7424 for all of my power polishing / waxing needs? Or should I also have a 10` orbital?
    Should the foam pads need frequent cleaning/changing if only doing an average sized car? (cars are in good condition, but with a few light swirl marks)
    Will monthly applications of UPP be reasonable for good shine maintenance, or is this overkill?
    Should I skip the carnauba wax last step if switching to monthly UPP applications?
    Naturally, I am hoping to standardize with as few products as possible.

Please advise. I will have much to thank the experts for!

My current 4 children are now ages 2, 2, 10, and 23. They range from Toyota black (Solara Convertible) to white in color, and they are regularly washed, waxed and clayed. They are always garaged/ protected from the Southern Calif smog/sun.
    Last edited by jbermo; 09-23-2004 at 01:44 PM.

Post Thanks / Like