Thread: paint types

Post Thanks / Like

Talking paint types

Hey folks, I am new to Detail City. I do have a question about paint types though. I have been detailing as a side hobby for about 10 years now and am about to dive into something unfamiliar......VOLVO. I have never had experience with European paints, as I only have owned Japanese cars myself and all of my friends are diehard Chevy, Ford and Chrysler fans. Are the paints hard, soft........pain in the tail end period? The guy is paying good money for this detail and I definently don`t want to give him any less that what he is paying for. Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: paint types

volvo perhaps have the finest paint of all cars made today. the reason why is because of their sophisticated paint booth there in Sweden. There paint booth is 4 times more sterile than a hospital. There finish is even through out the entire car, therefore the thickness is true from the front to the rear of there cars, of coarse there is has been a repaint involved.
    There finishes are base coat clear coat , with the exclusions of the following cars
    early model 850 series has single stage on
    dark green ,red, black colors........then tend to fade and require a good bit of compounding to get the color back to glossy.
    any non metallic color in a 240 series,740,960 is single stage. all of the metallics are base coat clear. you will enjoy how much heat you can put on the paint to make it gloss up.
    I hope this gives you some direction

Post Thanks / Like

A couple of quick comments...

When it comes removing defects, the major factors that determine how easy or how difficult it will be is how polishable the paint is and this is in part determined by how hard or soft the paint is.

For years now I see people come to forums and ask

Do Honda`s have soft paint?
    or
    I read that Fords have hard paint?
    or
    Fill in the blank....