Post Thanks / Like

DA Pads Simplicity...HELP please!!!

Good Afternoon fellow Detailers!

I am preparing to detail my car for the spring. It`s a Subaru Legacy in Lapis Blue/Dark Blue. It does have Mothers carnauba wax, as part of their 3 step system on it already. I am new to detailing and did everything by hand but it does have minor scratches - the type that straight on, you don`t see but in the sun at an angle, you do see if you specifically look. Now I`m looking to invest in the PC8424XP.

1. I`ve spent a good amount of time online researching pads. I see charts with the differences between pads, but what is the difference between the wool pads, foam pads, knitted wool pads?

2. What`s the difference between the different foam pad types, i.e. CCS, HDO, Flat, Better Edge, SDO, Hydro-Tech, Cross Cut, Double Sided, Waffle Pro, and Tufted? Whew... lol.

3. Which pad type would be good with the Mother`s products? I have their paste wax

4. Is the PC really much louder/vibrate more then the Griots 9?

5. The car does have a few curves and such, will the pads work for that, or just on flat surfaces?

6. Any other tips/suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks everyone!

Post Thanks / Like

Re: DA Pads Simplicity...HELP please!!!

Are you looking to do a correction or just wax it with the machine? The PC7424XP is pretty idiot proof. That`s what I have as a person relatively new to the detailing game, it`s not gear driven, so it`ll just stall if you`re pressing too hard or have a curve that`s tough. If you`re just looking to spread wax, a soft foam pad would be fine. I think in most brands that`s usually a black pad. At least it is with my Lake Country pads and I think the Chemical Guys pads (that I hate) are.

I don`t have any feedback as to Griot`s G9 vs. PC7424XP.

You`ll have to do some experimenting to figure out what works for you.

Post Thanks / Like