Post Thanks / Like

Losing my marbles trying to correct thinner curved portions

Hey everybody, I am pretty new to detailing and wanted to try to do some paint correction on my BMW E90 LCI M sport. I am doing the driver side of the front bumper and it is giving me a ton of grief. I have a 6" griot`s garage g9 orbital and I am not sure if I just don`t know how to use it right or its too big, but something is not working correctly. I started out by sanding the area with 3000 grit and then I went over it with the G9 with an optimum purple foam backed wool pad and optimum hyper compound. When I did that it built up in some spots kinda thick. After that I am going over the harder to reach spots with hyper compound and a microfiber towel. Then I use an optimum orange foam pad with hyper polish and a microfiber towel after that. Overall, some spots turned out okay. But a lot of the spots you can still see the sanding marks, they are faded and just generally ugly. I always try and look for the DA to be spinning before I just skip over a spot. I am just not sure if I need a smaller DA to get a lot of these spots or what. Some of these spots (like between the headlight and headlight washer nozzle) are too tight for any DA but at my microfiber compounding seemed incredibly ineffective.

Here is a link to some images. Sorry I am a little all over the place. I am extremely frustrated. This is not my first time attempting to detail and feeling like a complete failure. I really feel like some in person mentoring would help immensely. If someone is in the Chicago area and could help I would pay. Thank you for looking and helping!

https://imgur.com/a/rIRMbGd

Also if it would help, I would be willing to post a detailed video of my exact process. Honestly at this point I would pay for some mentoring even virtually like over skype.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Losing my marbles trying to correct thinner curved portions