Post Thanks / Like

Scatter in restored headlights

The headlights on my 2003 Honda Civic Hybrid hazed over and the history of the various restoration steps is here:

Restoring 3 years after Sylvania Headlight Restoration?

Lately they have been looking a little yellow, and I thought it was probably the silicone oil plus dirt, rather than the plastic itself. Scrubbed them thoroughly with a bit of detergent and a lot of water and they were clear again. For a change I just waxed them instead of applying oil. The wax gets into any tiny scratches and keeps them from scattering light. After that the headlights were about as pristine as possible. By eye they were just clear, from any angle the structures inside were very sharp. There was a slight pattern visible from the Sylvania coat. Got in the car and turned on the headlights aimed up against the garage door. Again, sharp. Good as new, right?

Not quite.

Then I did something I have never done before. With the headlights on I got out of the car and looked at the headlights. There was a remarkable amount of scatter, so that they were quite bright about 30 degrees off the main axis. Subjectively they sort of looked like they were glowing at those angles. My wife`s Accord was sitting right next to it, and that garage queen (the car, not the wife) has very clear headlights. No off angle scatter there. The headlights on the garage door were roughly as bright for both cars. Light sensitivity is logarithmic, so while to my eye that scatter looked pretty bright, in reality it was might have been only 1/100th of the beam intensity.