Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie here have white haze on front bumper

Good morning all I have a 13 malibu little under 90,000 miles. Car is a daily driver in highway never really have it a good detail job being that I had no time just washed and waxed it for the5 years I had it but I have noticed around last year or maybe longer there was this white haze comming up on my front bumper. Now I`m trying to get rid of it but i have no luck. I used clay I also tried.comepund but after I waxed it it still shows up. It feels smooth but it`s gotta be under the clear coat? Is that possible I need to machine it? Any info would be great and helpful. Here are some pics.

Sent from my SM-J327P using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie here have white haze on front bumper

Morning. So you`ll probably want to strip all that wax off so you can assess the condition of the paint. Maybe use an IPA/water wipe after a proper wash then chemical and mechanical decon.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by showbbq View Post
    Morning. So you`ll probably want to strip all that wax off so you can assess the condition of the paint. Maybe use an IPA/water wipe after a proper wash then chemical and mechanical decon.
    I would do this. Also maybe get a picture of a little more of the bumper so we can see the difference. You don`t have a protective film over the bumper do you??

Post Thanks / Like

charles3526- Welcome to Autopia!

I can never tell much from internet pics, but maybe it`s some (pretty severe) oxidation. The condition of the grille`s crossbars makes me think that`s kinda likely.

And/or...uh-oh, are you sitting down? It looks like there might be a *LOT* of tiny pin-prick type road rash from stones/etc. If that`s the case, or if the oxidation has penetrated down into the clear, you *might* be looking a having the bumpercover removed/refinished/reinstalled. Not a major project, but it would cost a little.