PDA

View Full Version : Serious Rust/Contamination

RAG
12-24-2005, 06:19 PM
Anybody know how to beat rust contamination near salt air?

A recent transplant to an ocean town (La Jolla, CA), I`ve been exposed to an entire new element of contamination - rust. This is SERIOUS stuff. The salt air is murder! I think the type of clearcote is HUGE with respect to rust contamination - I almost never see Lexus` with rust specking.

I detailed my Aunt`s white Jeep Grand Cherokee and Uncle`s Dodge Magnum (both about 2 years old) about 3 months ago - and both have quite a bit of rust specking/contamination in the paint already. (my uncle owns a machine shop, so I know his car is often in a high-contamination area, but my Aunt`s car is rarely there.) Both details were clay, rotary compound, polish, and FMJ (I think I put AIO under FMJ on one of them, but can`t be sure). I can`t believe how much contamination they have already.

Also, I worked as a service advisor (ticket writer...selling details) at a local hand wash for a while when I first moved here...all I can say is - there are a lot of cars here with rust contamination due to the salt air. And right now, I don`t know how to beat it...other than clay every 6 to 8 weeks. I haven`t had too much of a problem with my LandCruiser, but the 2003 Honday Coupe I just sold needed to be clayed OFTEN to keep the rust at bay.

I suppose the cars that are more suseptable probably have softer, more porous clear coats.

White95Max
12-24-2005, 06:39 PM
You can get rust specks in the paint whether you`re 1 mile or 1000 miles from the ocean. There are a lot more contaminants to worry about than salty air.

wannafbody
12-24-2005, 07:44 PM
that sounds like rail dust or something other than just salt-I`d think salt could pit clearcoat but that it would disolve during washing :think:

Setec Astronomy
12-24-2005, 07:58 PM