PDA

View Full Version : Tough water marks / spots, need some advice

dbhak22
11-29-2005, 12:17 AM
Hello all, first post here...and YES I have done my share of searching for my answers, :)

I just bought a used (3400 miles) Saab 9-2X in BLACK...toughest color to keep clean as you all know. The car is less than 6 months old, but the previous owner didn`t maintain the paint as well as he could have. The car was in San Diego all summer and he must have parked in direct sunlight near a sprinkler system as there are some strong water marks/spots on parts of the hood, the passenger side headlight (plastic) and bumper (paint and chrome pieces).

Doing a lot of research on here and posting a thread on the Saab92X forums, I`ve concluded that vinegar/water is a good solution...so I tried it over the long weekend with no luck. I am new to the detailing game but have always been anal with keeping my car clean. I started buying some products and waxed the car for the first time a couple weekends ago and it didn`t help with the spots as someone had suggested. I just purchased a bottle of 3M Imperial Hand Glaze which might help, but I got it to use as a glaze/polish anyway. I haven`t used it yet as it was purchased online and hasn`t arrived yet...

In the meantime, I would like some EXPERT (yes, from reading a lot of threads on here, I havce concluded you are all experts, :) ) advice on which method/product I should use to get rid of the water spots on my bumper/chrome/hood. Keep in mind I have a metallic black paint job and am new to detailling so do not want to use a powered device.

Here is a picture of what I`m dealing with...

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-9/1076625/DSC00680.JPG

THANKS!

Bioman
11-29-2005, 01:57 AM