PDA

View Full Version : I`m not understanding using VM/RMG under a sealant

Pages : [1] 2

TGates
10-09-2005, 11:41 AM
I see people using VM/EX-P/Nattys, etc. all the time, but I was under the impression that VM was a glaze that left a lot of oils/fillers behind, and was primarily meant to be used under a Carnauba (CMW, etc.) Wouldn`t a pure sealant like EX-P or UPP not bond to a surface just gone over with VM/RMG?

I am by no means an expert, but logically, it seems one would use a polish of their choice (say, SSR or Optimum) then VM OR RMG (why do I see both used sometimes?), then YCW, then CMW (carnauba).

I just don`t see how a sealant can come into play here. What am I missing?

EDIT- I see now that RMG does not contain wax or silicones. But what about VM? What kind of glaze doesn`t have fillers in it?

Scottwax
10-09-2005, 01:08 PM
EX-P is compatible with oil based glazes as well as non-oily final polishes like AIO. Whether or not durablity is somewhat compromised, I can`t tell you but I haven`t noticed using EX-P over VM gives poor durability.

im_wicked247
10-09-2005, 01:22 PM
I plan on using EX-P x2 over RMG my question is do I have to give the RMG any time to cure? I know I have to let the EX-P cure for a few days before I can apply my wax.

DCT
10-09-2005, 01:31 PM
Unless a product was specifically designed to work with the components of another product, there is always a chance that durability will be compromised. Of course, there`s always a chance that they may work together simply by luck, or trial and error.

My guess would be that the durability would be sacrificed in most cases.

Scottwax
10-09-2005, 01:49 PM
I plan on using EX-P x2 over RMG my question is do I have to give the RMG any time to cure? I know I have to let the EX-P cure for a few days before I can apply my wax.

RMG is a glaze, it has no recommended cure time.

a.k.a. Patrick
10-09-2005, 01:51 PM