PDA

View Full Version : Why do I find optimum so NOT agressive?

Pages : [1] 2

zimmerDN
10-04-2005, 08:40 PM
It seems like it takes forever to take any kind of swirl marks out and I am pretty sure I am doing everything properly. This is the most agressive polish I have in my collection right now and I use it with my DAS orange pad. I tried to tack swirl marks on 2 cars before they both took upwards of 12 passes on each section (very very slow passes) before I got most of them out.

Is your experience the same?

Scottwax
10-04-2005, 08:44 PM
I have no experience with DAS pads so I can`t tell if a more aggressive pad would help. What speed and amount of pressure are you using?

With a polishing pad, Optimum Polish is similar to SSR2 or Meguiars Speed Glaze. With a Meguiars cutting pad (burgandy), it is similar to DACP or SSR2.5 but finishes down better.

Setec Astronomy
10-04-2005, 08:55 PM
Well, I learned something this weekend about the PC...turn it up to 6 and use WAY more pressure than you think you had to, if you want to remove defects. I had this thing in my head about "using the weight of the machine", but pressure worked, and is kind of affirmed by this thread on MOL that I found after:PC thread with bathroom scale (http://meguiarsonline.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7034&highlight=scale), and Mike Phillips won`t even take the PC to 6 because he uses one of those crummy Meguiar`s backing plates!

imported_Bence
10-04-2005, 09:46 PM
zimmer,

You are using too much product. It just skating on the surface on its polishing oils, greatly diminishing its cutting power.

imported_themightytimmah
10-04-2005, 09:53 PM
Well, Optimum is really not a great PC polish, IMHO. Via rotary it`ll take out some serious damage, but IMHO SSR2.5 is a vastly better choice via pc. Optimum is an excellent finishing polish/hologram remover via DA, but I don`t find it useful for much else.

Scottwax
10-04-2005, 10:05 PM