PDA

View Full Version : Need advice for expanding my detailing routine

Pages : [1] 2

Bill1975
10-03-2005, 08:33 PM
Hi folks! I`ve been hanging out on vwvortex and passatworld quite a bit and several people have advised me to check this site out. I`ve been reading this site for quite a while as well as several other detailing forums, but yet I still find it a bit overwhelming. So, since it`s getting late for me I will get to the point:

I have a black 2004 VW Passat. I wash every one to two weeks. About a month ago I did a wash, clay and carnauba wax. Now, since Im new to detailing I want to try and add things little by little so I dont get in over my head. I`m in need of another wax job, so I`m wondering what else I can do to protect my paint and help it look better. I`ve been contemplating one of the Mothers or Meguiar`s "Three Step" detailing systems (Pre wax cleaner, sealer/glaze, and wax). However, a few questions arise - 1) The pre wax cleaner, polish, and glaze products all sound similar. They all claim to help smooth the paint and hide/remove swirl marks and water spots. So what is the difference, and how many do I need? 2) Should I get a polish anyway, or is the three step enough? 3) How helpful is a sealer and does it help prolong wax life? and 4) Since from what I understand, synthetic wax and carnauba wax are different, is it worth the trouble to layer on both? If so, which goes first?

Thanks for anyones help. If it matters, I don`t have a power buffer, so for now I will be doing everything by hand. I figure the prewax cleaner will do just that, but I may try claying again, just for practice, I dont think it can hurt, if done properly. Again, as much as I`ve read, many of the products out there seem similar, and there are so many its a bit overwhelming, so I appreciate any advice.

Wasatch
10-04-2005, 08:17 AM