PDA

View Full Version : even bother with an orbital?

Pages : [1] 2

smak
09-19-2005, 01:44 PM
could you do everything a orbital could do with a quality rotary?

i`m wondering if i should even bother getting a PC? just step up to the metabo and be done with it.

how much vibration does the PC generate? like a pager on vibe mode, more.. less?

i`m thinking that using a quality rotary on 1500rpm would be much more theraputic overall. once the learning curve passes that is.

zippymbr
09-19-2005, 01:49 PM
It is hard to say. To each his own. I have both now and use them for different things. I have hit the limit of the PC many times. It did not take me very long to learn the rotary but I use tools for a living woodworking and carpentry.

Accumulator
09-19-2005, 01:54 PM
This gets asked so often I can almost predict who will say what :D

I`d get the PC (or a Cyclo, or better yet both) as well as the rotary. If you get holograms from the rotary you`ll be glad you have the D/A. And when you don`t need the power of the rotary the D/A can be quick and easy. I know some people get by with one or the other (and some of these people are rather, uhm, opinionated about it), but to me it`s like asking if you need a hand saw or should you just get a chainsaw (or a .22 or an elephant gun, etc., etc.).

I hardly ever use the rotary, but I use the Cyclo (and to a lesser extent the PC) all the time.

If the vibes from PC are a concern (and yeah, it`s not exactly pleasant for some people) consider the Cyclo.

smak
09-19-2005, 02:50 PM
so the cyclo doesent vibrate so much? i`m guessing it has a shorter throw maybe but more spinning?

i hear it has issues breaking down aio and some other polishes too quickly, anyone try it with newer ocp or z-pc?

have folks experienced good results using diminishing abrasive polishes with the cyclo?

Accumulator
09-19-2005, 04:22 PM
so the cyclo doesent vibrate so much? i`m guessing it has a shorter throw maybe but more spinning?