PDA

View Full Version : Question for city water users/apt. dwellers.

vprdak
09-15-2005, 05:20 AM
Ok i recently moved into an apartment in a much larger city than where i am from, in order to go to college.. I carefully selected an apartment with a decent car wash area.. But now i am a bit scared to use it as i went to go check out the water the other day and noticed it smelled a bit of chlorine? Now i know that city water is indeed purified a bit but will this be harmful to my paint... As it has never been washed with anything but water from a well at my parents home.. Also how hard can i expect this water to be.. Any help/replies will be greatly appreciated.. thanks

schoi
09-15-2005, 05:36 AM
Not sure, actually, but I`m interested as well.

GTScott
09-15-2005, 06:21 AM
Let me shine some light on this, if I may. My degree is incivil engineering and I have been practicing water/wastewater design for a few years although I don`t do it full time. I don`t know what area of the country your family`s well was in, but you are more likely to find hard water (i.e., mineral rich) in groundwater than you are in city water in most areas. Water softening is a rather simple step that is added in most treatment processes, especially those in small towns that pull from a local aquifer, but may not be seen on residential wells or other non-municipal systems.

I would not be concerned with the chlorine. You may be close to the plant and thus have a higher chlorine residual in your water. This is not a big problem for your car. However, it would be interesting to see some research on LSP life when washed with high vs. low chlorine content water.

If you are interested in specific hardness of the naturaol waters in your area, check out USGS at:

http://water.usgs.gov/owq/FAQ.htm#Q12 and follow the links.

If you let me know what county you are in, I may be able to see exactly what you can find in your water.

Best of luck-

GT

chml17l
09-15-2005, 07:50 AM