PDA

View Full Version : Calling all engineers.

JJ_
07-22-2005, 04:29 AM
Hi guys wondering if you can help. Im in my third year going on to my fourth at University.

I have however two small problems that I would like some help with. Two probably simple question although I just can`t get my head round where to start. Give me a buffer and some SSR and im good, give me some euler`s or pressurised cylinders and im stuck! lol.

Ok first question goes like this.

Thin steel cylinder, closed ends, 180mm diameter and 10mm thick. Yield stress of 250MN/m2.

Determine the internal pressure. Then if the internal pressure is 0.75p then fine (using tresca) tensile focre to cause yielding and the applied bending moment to cause yielding.

I have a hunch I should use mohr`s circle but im not sure what the units correspond to.

Next and final question.......

A steel bush is to be shrunk on to a steel shaft so that the internal diameter is extended to 0.512mm above its original size. The insied and outside diameters of the bush are 203mm and 305mm.

Find the normal pressure between the bush and shaft

Fine the hoop stress at the inner and outer surfaces of the line.

E=207 GN/m2 and V=0.28

I know I have to find the pressure using lame`s but how do I start with this if I have E and not the pressure.

Thanks guys, hopefully I can help you sometime!

wifehatescar
07-22-2005, 06:23 AM
I re-formatted my brain`s hard drive at the exact moment they handed me my Mech. Eng. degree. Your post just brings up bad memories for me :lol :cry:

imported_Intel486
07-22-2005, 07:01 AM
Blah, mechanical engineers :grinno:

I`m not required to start thinking for another month but if I catch any of my ME friend`s online I`ll ask them if they know.

JJ_
07-22-2005, 09:50 AM
lol what section are you in intel486?

AlexRuiz
07-22-2005, 12:31 PM
No freaking idea! :nixweiss

BTW, my engineering degree is in electronics

imported_Intel486
07-22-2005, 03:04 PM
lol what section are you in intel486?