PDA

View Full Version : Question Concerning Dawn as initial wash

BFarm
07-16-2005, 10:33 PM
Hello, I am delving into car detailing tomorrow. I am new to the whole operation (see my intro thread w/ new car pics here: New Member, New Car - Annapolis, MD (http://autopia.org/forum/showthread.php?t=59400)) and have thus read up and decided to go with the Zaino product line.

The car is brand new (5 miles on the odo when I picked her up) except for the 2 weeks and 570 miles she`s seen since pickup. I have yet to wash at all, as I wanted to get good products and some knowledge before tearing into the paint.

My primary question is in regards to the mix using Liquid Dawn as my initial wash agent. What is a good % mix of dawn to water? This is one thing I was unable to find amidst the Dawn vs. No Dawn debate.

Plan of Attack:

1) Spray off with hose

2) Wash with Liquid Dawn mixture (not sure of % yet) using 100% USA cotton towel.

3) Z-18 Claybar

4) Z-7 Wash using towel

5) ZFX + Z2 Application using Zaino #314 Applicator; let dry; buff cotton towel.

6) Z6 application using towel.

7) ZFX + Z5 using #314 applicator, buff with towel.

8) Z6

9) ZFX + Z2

10) Z6

11) Z-12 on the Glass, Z-16 on the Tires

Summary of Questions:

A) What % Water/Liquid Dawn mix is desirable?

B) Do I have the right type of dawn? Click for Zoom:

http://img314.echo.cx/img314/8722/dsc024467tc.th.jpg (http://img314.echo.cx/my.php?image=dsc024467tc.jpg)

C) Should I apply the full Zaino treatment to my rims to keep em clean and protected? They are BBS Forged Aluminum 17" Rims that come stock on an `05 STi.

See you all around,

BFarm

salty
07-16-2005, 11:46 PM
I use probably 1/2 oz per gallon. I would skip the Dawn and do Z7 wash with a Bill D acceptable sheepskin from Wal mart. Then clay, and use the Zaino products at will. Z5-Z6-Z5-Z6-Z2-Z6-Z2-Z6 and i think you just bought Sal a new house.