PDA

View Full Version : To clay or not to clay ?

Pages : [1] 2

Clean Dean
07-14-2005, 10:15 AM
To some I think the answer I am looking for is obvious...

As a professional I would not even think of buffing out a car before it has been properly clayed. I realize that clay is not cheap, but even compounding and polishing does not alway get out all of the evironmental contaniments. I know a few detailing operation near me that only offer claying as an upcharge.

What do you think to clay or not to clay? Should it be an upcharge? Should you build it into your price (I do)?

BTW... If you get away with exterior detailing without claying and still get your price more power to you. I just believe that claying is now a mandatory step in a complete exterior detail.

imported_truzoom
07-14-2005, 10:41 AM
I think it should be mandatory, because I can`t imagine trying to polish a surface that has contamination..especially sap or fallout. You`ll end up runing your pads and wasting polish.

ScubaStevo
07-14-2005, 11:20 AM
I base claying on a car to car basis. If I think it will need it (as in, polishing won`t remove it), I ask for a additional 5-10 dollars. I build my base price with clay time included, but I find that I end up using on other things anyways.

Spilchy
07-14-2005, 11:42 AM
Obviously time is money. It takes more time to clay a car, then to only compound / polish it. You indicate you factor it into your fee so in essence you are upcharging unless you offer a lesser "package" that does not include claying.

So charging for claying is reasonable given the time factor. Places around me charge $5 per panel.

The only draw back about upcharging for clay may be pricing yourself out of the market if that is a concern. Not that going cheap is the right route either!