PDA

View Full Version : Do any of those Brake Dust repelents work?

JustinL67
07-03-2005, 10:32 AM
Like the new michelin stuff? I get major brak dust from my new pads, my next ones will definanalty be ceramic, but do any products actualy work?

bender
07-03-2005, 11:17 AM
The best plan of attack is to use AIO and SGx3. This combo does wonders as far as reppeling brake dust. I have used the michelin stuff a couple times and it works decently well although it will be completely gone after about 1-2 weeks of driving. So, if you re-apply ever second wash i think you`ll be fine. (BTW i`ve been using it on a BMW 330i which is well known for the un-godly amount of brake dust that it produces so you may see different results with your car)

Lowejackson
07-03-2005, 12:06 PM
I have been using Autoglym on my wheels for quite a few years and it really helps. The pads on my Alfa are very soft and brake dust is a big problem but the AG makes cleaning very easy.

03SilverDak
07-04-2005, 01:52 AM
i know that dupont teflon wheel cleaner will take the brake dust longer to accumulate on your rims. what I use to use on my daks rims. I am with you my next pads will be ceramic .

paco
07-04-2005, 09:05 AM
RainX isn`t bad. Does repel brake dust but definitely makes cleaning much easier.

Michelin`s is supposedly not bad but I haven`t had a chance to try it out myself.

imported_themightytimmah
07-04-2005, 11:08 AM
I use DP wheel glaze, it helps to repel dust but more importantly it makes the rims easy to clean with just soap and water. In my experience, nothing is going to truly prevent brake dust from adhering (I`ve used Klasse Twins, Poorboy`s WS, DP Glaze, Collinite, Meg`s GC wax, UPP, the list goes on and on), but a good sealant will cut down on the dusting somewhat, and make cleaning much easier.

buellwinkle
07-06-2005, 05:32 PM