PDA

View Full Version : UK help please!

stargazerplus
07-02-2005, 01:04 AM
Hi, I’m new to Autopia, but have been lurking around various detailing forums for quite a while!

I’ve been detailing cars amateurishly since I was about ten, sometimes very badly! At the moment I live in London and have three cars in our family household… two twelve year old Mercedes 190s, one in pure black, one in diamond blue (light) metallic. The third car is a six year old SLK 230K.

All of them have spider swirls and after using a two handled pro user machine to “polish” them, I realised the error of my ways and took the plunge and imported the PC from Autopia with no duty along with the Sonus SFX pad kit.

I have used many different waxes and polishes by hand before, including Autoglym SRP and EGP, which I didn’t really like as the SRP was dusty, and the EGP caused streaks (I now know that was because I was applying it too thickly!). My recent favourite is Meguiars Gold Class, but I have tried the new NXT wax (don’t really like it)….. I have also used Meguiars Clay but find it sticks if your not very careful with the lube!

I plan to use the blue 190 as the test bed, as it is the least likely to show any errors!!!!! I have the following at my disposal….

````` Liquid (Dawn) (initial wash???)

Meguiars NXT shampoo (do I need to wash after clay or after AIO?)

Bilt-Hamber Autoclay www.bilthamber.com (uses water as lubricant, haven’t tried it yet, if I don’t like it I will use Meguiar’s or 3M)

Autoglym Paint Renovator

Carlack 68 Paint cleaner/acryl protect (Klasse AIO)

Carlack Acryl Wax (Klasse SG)

P21S

Orange SFX1 pad

White SFX2 pad

Blue SFX3 pad

Sonus DAS buffing bonnet

Autopia Concours Finishing Bonnet

I was going to use the following pads to apply

Autoglym Renovator Orange

Klasse AIO White (or should I use blue)

Klasse SG DAS bonnet over white (or orange?)

P21S Blue