PDA

View Full Version : Meguiar #83 DACP with cutting or polishing pad?

Pages : [1] 2

imported_95legend
06-23-2005, 11:50 PM
I`ve used the search but since #83, polishing, and cutting are too general for the search engine, I can`t really find what I`m looking for.

I just bought myself a gallong of dacp. I have never used it before, but I want to do it right the first time.

I would think I need to use the dacp on the cutting pad to remove the swirls I have on my car, but since the dacp is a polish, would it be better to use my polishing pad instead? I have the Sonus pads (orange, green, blue).

One last thing. I`ve gone up to #6 on my PC before and I could not handle it for more than 5 minutes before my hand gets all numb and funny. How do you guys handle it? lol. I tried switching hands but it`s still annoying! :nixweiss

Thanks everyone!

Black240SX
06-24-2005, 12:16 AM
Use it with a polishing pad.

Alfisti
06-24-2005, 03:41 AM
It depends how bad the swirls are.

Since you`re starting fresh, start with the green pad. Check your results and decide from there.

If its removed 50% of the swirls, use the green pad again. If its made little difference, step up to the orange pad, then finish with the green pad and a milder polish. The reason being, the orange pad is quite aggressive and, although it shouldn`t leave a haze, it will lower the gloss. Personally, I`d use a finishing polish after any aggressive polishing session whether its DACP or similar.

I rarely use 6 on my PC. I don`t have vibration problems - it feels like a mild massage to me. I just find most pads don`t like it, and it allows the polish a little longer to do its job before breaking down.

Hint: Don`t use too much pressure with the Sonus orange pad - it hates it. Its an unusual pad...gently does it.

malckyh
06-24-2005, 07:37 AM
i think the reason your hand was going numb is due to the counter weight, i remember reading if its too heavy/light it would cause hand going numb.

Accumulator