PDA

View Full Version : First-timer to PC7424 and Z-PC, please advise...

sillystanger
06-17-2005, 06:30 PM
I`m still very much a noob here with only a couple months of detailing experience under my belt. I`ve been using the complete Zaino line and love it. I`m now moving on to the next hurdle and purchasing an orbital buffer. The PC seems to be the standard here so I plan to go for that... after a little froogling, I think I`ll be ordering from this place since it runs around 120 plus some extra 6" pad and counterweights are included: http://www.coastaltool.com/cgi-bin/welcome.pl?ref=froogle+page=/a/port/7424_car_buffer.htm

I`ve also ordered up some Z-PC. I have a lot to learn about polishing and will do a lot more reading on the site, but in the meantime can someone recommend a polish or compound which is effectively the next stage up in terms of abrasiveness. I have a few significant scratches that I imagine will be too much for Z-PC (which is a guess since I haven`t used it yet and have no polishing experience for that matter). From what I read though, I imagine Z-PC to be the final polish to use??? Is that correct, and if so, what would be next step up in abrasiveness?

I`ll also have to do some research to help guide me on which pads to get but I know there`s ample info in this forum. Course, wouldn`t mind hearing any tips about using the PC with the Zaino line from using ZPC, to applying polishes to buffing. I`m hoping that it`ll help me apply Z2 more thin as I think I waste too much (almost 3oz. per coat on Mustang). Think I saw Concours bonnets which would probably do a better job with the PC than my hand buffing does with similar towels. Thanks for any suggestions!

SilverBelle04
06-18-2005, 03:22 AM
What color is your Mustang ?

I`ve been able to remove blemishes and mionor scratches/swirls using Meg`s DACP on an orange pad with my PC at 5 or 6.