PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from the Great White North

Pages : [1] 2

zimmerDN
06-10-2005, 12:44 PM
Hello, I`ve following this forum for the past few months. I am ready to wax my car for the first time this week I think. I still have lots of questions.

I have a darker blue car. The problem is, when the paint is clean and dust free it`s a nice color. However when it gets dirty it turns purple. So I need a wax that gives the wet look with lots of depth. I don`t need the shine as much.

Since I am from canada it`s hard to find over the counter products like the ones mentioned here. So I think I`ve choosen to use Turtle Wax Platnum Ultra since it`s easy to find. Is this enough? Or should i use something else for protection (like sealant, I am not sure) and use the TWUP to top it off. I am new at this so I am not sure what the proper way do it is.

I already have the clay bar kit from mothers. Inside there`s a little bottle of lubricant and cleaner wax. What else do I need to prep the car? The car is one year old and haven`t been waxed before.

How do I strip off the old wax? Can I just get any applicator pads from stores like Canadian Tire or Parts Source and use microfiber towels to polish?

Ben Kenobi
06-10-2005, 01:29 PM
Welcome to Autopia from a fellow GWNer! I would recommend that you use something like Klasse AIO or Poorboy`s SSR`s to clean the paint and remove and swirls and scratches.

Once the paint is clean then go for a sealant like Klasse SG which will keep that wet look and give you protection. If you want to use the TW after then put it on as a LSP topper. Do some reading on here and you`ll find a wealth of information. There are some excellent online shops here and in the U.S. that have great products. If I can be of any further feel free to PM me. Where are you located by the way?

Good luck!

Paul

2wheelsx2
06-10-2005, 01:40 PM