PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal ?

Pages : [1] 2

Gen2
05-06-2005, 08:56 PM
I have been using this DA polisher, RupesBR65AE, for the past 4 months

http://autopia.org/gallery/data/500/20681rupesbr65ae.jpg

It has a wattage of 550 and speed 2000(1) - 7000(6) opm. Whenever I set the speed to around 4.5, the polishing pad will not only orbit, it will also start to rotate but very much slower than a rotary. Is this normal ? We do not have PC around here, so don`t really know how the PC works. I wonder the slow rotating motion from the DA polisher can cause swirl marks or should I select a lower speed such that it does not rotate. Any input is appreciated. Thanks.

imported_DetailGirl
05-06-2005, 09:30 PM
From the title of your report I expected to see a picture of a rash on your butt, or God forbid elsewhere

Gen2
05-06-2005, 09:45 PM
`Thanks` for your reply, DetailGirl. But seriously, there seems to be some very minor swirl that I can`t get rid of and I suspect could it be the rotating motion of the polishing pad that caused it. So does the PC behave the same way when set to a higher speed ?

JeffM
05-06-2005, 09:51 PM
Doesnt matter. If your pads are old, cheap, or dirty, doesnt matter the tool you use.

I dont know what that poliser is, but the PC is an outstanding tool. Couple the PC with proper polishes, quality pads, and proper education, your car will be the envy of the town :)

imported_Burlyq
05-06-2005, 09:54 PM
Are you sure it rotates with increased speed only or are you pushing a button? I`d check because that machine looks like the expensive Makita BO6040 which rotates as an option.

http://www.autogeek.net/bo6040.html

Gen2
05-06-2005, 10:18 PM