PDA

View Full Version : Swirls: SSR2.5 or SSR3

Quant
05-02-2005, 11:19 AM
A few days ago, I tried removing swirls off a neglected 1999 Chrysler Concorde (dark green). SSR 2.5 was applied partly by hand, and partly using a Simoniz Orbital.

I was largely unsuccessful. Being a newb, I think my technique of using the orbital wasn`t optimum, applying too much pressure with a 4" foam pad. And of course, there`s only so much I can do with my hand before getting exhausted. I am thinking of retrying.

My question to Autopians, How do I figure out if I need to do more passes with SSR 2.5, or should I up the abrasiveness to SSR 3? Thanks.

J.J.
05-02-2005, 11:42 AM
As long as you allow the 2.5 to breakdown, you shouldn`t have any problems. I`ve only been here a short while, but I`ve never heard anyone with experience indicate 2.5 wouldn`t take care of swirls. Maybe move to a more aggressive pad and a PC b/c going to SSR 3 will most likely require a rotary.

JJ

BlkSilverado
05-02-2005, 11:55 AM
I agree with JJ. SSR2.5 is an awesome polish that will remove 95% of all defects. Make sure and work a small area(2x2) and use enough product to coat the pad. Work it in until clear and remove and inspect your work. Some places might require a second application.

imported_DetailGirl
05-02-2005, 01:26 PM
Careful with SSR 3 its some heavy duty stuff

Quant
05-03-2005, 08:05 AM
Does anyone have any idea how good the Simoniz Orbital is? I know it is not the PC, but is it really bad? Is that one of my problems?

Big Leegr
05-03-2005, 09:40 AM
If you are talking about the cordless (4") then it`s basically just for applying a wax or maybe a glaze. It won`t have the "Oomph" to work a polish in.