PDA

View Full Version : Advice on detailing products

Pages : [1] 2

CletusTheDwarf
04-12-2005, 03:08 PM
I am very new to the detailing community, and i want to do it right. I`ve had my 2005 Subaru WRX (WR Blue) for about 3 months now, and I am going to do my first good cleaning soon. Here are some products I have picked out so far, and I would just like some input on my choices.

Meguiars Medalion Paint Cleaner

Clay Magic Perfect Finish Kit

P21S Bodywork Shampoo

Meguiars NXT Tech Wax

Anything i`m forgetting? Anything I should change? Also, considering the paint is very new, does that change what treaments I should give it? Is it too early for using clay on it? Thanks for helping out a noob.

AJLT1
04-12-2005, 03:17 PM
Clay is great to use from Day 1, mainly because there should be a nice amount of rail dust embedded in your paint. i would pick up some clay. my favorite is the wolfgang polyclay which can be bought through www.autogeek.net or wolfgangs website

hirosh
04-12-2005, 03:36 PM
it`s never too early to clay. although your car is new, it probably has junk accumulated on it`s surfaces during transporting and sitting on the dealer`s lot. try checking out this link (http://autopia.org/kb/index.php?page=index_v2&id=31&c=root) about claying.

as long as the paint doesn`t have any swirls, you can use the products you`ve listed.

wash

clay

meg`s medallion paint cleaner

NXT

happy detailing. :wavey

CletusTheDwarf
04-12-2005, 03:41 PM
for future refrence, if i did have swirls eventually, what should i change in my product selection?

the other pc
04-12-2005, 03:43 PM
:welcome to Autopia!

The products you listed will certainly work very well.

I don`t think you necessarily need other chemicals but you may find some useful at times. For instance, I always keep a tube of ScratchX handy. You don`t need it unless you get a scuff, swirl or stain that`s a little more stubborn than the cleaner will remove easily.