PDA

View Full Version : Rotary guys...do you still use the PC a lot?

Pages : [1] 2 3

White95Max
03-24-2005, 09:21 PM
I placed my order for the $25 Chicago rotary at http://www.harborfreight.com yesterday.

I`m wondering...to all you guys that use a rotary for polishing, do you still use the PC much or is it sitting on the back of the shelf now?

I`d guess you still use the PC for very light swirls or maybe LSPs?

rw3829
03-24-2005, 10:02 PM
I purchased the Harbor Freight rotary and will be using it for the first time tomorrow...I also have a PC and used it for the first time a couple of weeks ago on my 03 PT Cruiser. I have limited rotary experience from trying out my luck on a 1997 Camry with a Black and Decker 2-speed model and I must say, after using both a rotary and the PC, I will find it hard to return to the PC. I know I will use the PC on higher end cars for now until I truly get the rotary down, but the results were just too amazing with the rotary compared to the PC. Now the Camry did have fairly bad paint defects (scratches, etc.) that a PC would have probably been at a disadvantage with, but the results came sooo quickly with the rotary! Also, after doing my PT with the PC and #80 with a LC polishing pad to remove light swirls, then still seeing swirls, makes me wonder what would have happened if I had used a rotary on it. Anywho, I did enjoy using the PC so maybe I step up to DACP or at lease a cutting pad with the #80 before shunning the PC. The bottom line...I WILL succeed with the rotary and make it my go-to tool of choice.

White95Max
03-24-2005, 10:13 PM
You didn`t have any problems with the rotary your first time?

What size pads did you use?

Corey Bit Spank
03-24-2005, 10:15 PM
Depends. depends depends. Sometimes using the PC is more than adequate, sometimes using a rotary makes quick work with great results. :)

DaGonz
03-24-2005, 10:27 PM
What is the mantra of an autopian?