PDA

View Full Version : HUGE newbie here.

Pages : [1] 2

JamesonC
03-17-2005, 06:34 PM
Hello all, I am way too overwhelmed to understand anything in this forum right now. I`ll just go over basically what I do with my car. Wash, then dry, then apply meguiars cleaner wax. Done. I know you guys might flame me, but I am really interested in the detailing game. Any help to get me started would be appreciated.

Setec Astronomy
03-17-2005, 06:37 PM
Welcome! That doesn`t sound like a bad regimen, if you do it regularly. If you click on the "learn!" link at the top of this page, you will be connected with a wealth of knowledge to start with.

SayNoToPistons
03-17-2005, 06:55 PM
Download the e-book. great info!

Don
03-17-2005, 06:57 PM
Originally posted by Setec Astronomy

Welcome! That doesn`t sound like a bad regimen, if you do it regularly.

I agree.

If you want to go all out, the entire process can be broken into five steps: (As written by Mike Phillips)

Washing

Before detailing your car, first do an extremely good job of washing it. Remove all the dirt from all the nooks and crannies. This prevents any small abrasive dirt particle from entering into the machine polishing process and potentially instilling a swirl. Get the Car Sparkling Clean to start with and everything will be downhill after that.

Claying

After that clay the car, at least the horizontal surfaces. Again, do a good job of claying to insure you remove all above surface contaminants. The level of gloss you can achieve from your car`s finish is mostly determined by how smooth you can make your paint. Claying will make your car`s finish as smooth as glass.

After washing and and claying the car, and the car is all dry and ready to work on, the first thing you should do is to tape off any parts of the car you want to protect from splatter or prevent getting any product onto.

Now move onto the cleaning step.

Cleaning