PDA

View Full Version : Question about buffing

jac0b
03-07-2005, 07:13 PM
I am a newbie to the buffing thing. I have a couple small scratches on a passenger door that I want to buff out, the question is when I do buff the car can I just buff the door it self or do I have to buff the entire car.

Thanks,

Accumulator
03-07-2005, 07:48 PM
jac0b- Welcome to Autopia!

You can generally do "spot repairs" without having to do the whole car. Sometimes the polished area looks *so* much better than the rest of it that you *will* want to do more, but not always.

Do a little research on how to remove the marring so things go smoothly.

togwt
03-08-2005, 08:27 AM
:welcome to Autopia jac0b

This may help you to get started on your buffing project. There is a lot of good information on Autopia especially the e-detailing book e-Detailing DavidB (http://www.autopia.org/display.php?file=Books.htm&s=&menu=4)

Machine Polish (Compound) Application:

Depending on the types of surface abrasions you`re dealing with, increase speed and pressure as necessary. Just remember that more speed plus more pressure equals more aggressive, so be careful around ridges and raised surfaces

Maintain the same pressure and work the product in, it may take three or four passes to complete before the residue can be removed. Once you see the desired results move on to the next area, or repeat the process as necessary.

Methodology

·Evenly apply the product to the foam pad (not the paint surface) and then move the pad on the paint film surface to further distribute product.

·Evenly apply the product to the foam pad (not the paint surface) and then move the pad on the paint film surface to further distribute product.

·Use polishing foam (or cutting foam, but only if surface requires it) at speed# 5 or 6.

·Without lifting the machine from the paint film surface, adjust the speed wheel and turn the machine on.

·Draw an imaginary square two-foot by two foot (less on smaller panels)