PDA

View Full Version : Need Help In Proper Prepping Of My Truck

gassvcman
02-27-2005, 02:17 PM
Hello, I am a newbie to detailing and am wondering about the proper prepping of my vehicle, and what products I will need to purchase either at a local shop or online.

I have a 01 Toyota Turndra SR5 4x4 pickup Truck. It is a daily driver, but sits outside all the time. I use a company vehicle that I drive back and forth from work.

The paint condition is is still very good I believe. The color is a dark burgundy color. the toyota name for the paint is called red pearl. very dark and rich color.

I have spent alot of money within the last year or so on product. I have purchased Zaino, and have a PC 7424 Polisher.

I just recently purchased the Sonus Das Polishing Kit from Autopia. When I bought the Zaino last year, I don`t think I did the proper prep work, and wasn`t very satisified with the results.

That is why I am asking for your opinion as far as what to use for a complete detail. I was spending alot of money getting my cars detailed, and for the most part wasn`t very happy with that.

I have real alot on these forums, but seem to get lost in all the different array of products mentioned, and etc. I have reviewed David B`s C.D. that came with the Sonus Pad Kit.

So without further ado here is the list of items I would like help with a complete detail for a Newbie. Their is just too much product out their that I am not familiar with.

I want to do all the work myself

I`ll tell you what, I just spent over $150.00 online this week in just wheel cleaners. Bought from eastwood and heavy metal, and now I come across Adams website, was tempted to buy from them some product, that is why I am asking help, My wife is getting quite upset about all the money I am spending on this.